Home | About CIM | In Memory of Chern | Affiliations | Lectures | Conferences | Visitors | Library of Mathematics  | Graduates | International Cooperations | Videos 

Home > News > Content
Prof. Jiangong You wins 2024 TWAS Award in Mathematics
2022-11-21 10:37

Jiangong You, professor at Chern Institute of Mathematics, Nankai University, won the 2024 TWAS Award in Mathematics for his essential contributions to the development of dynamics systems.

The World Academy of Sciences for the advancement of science in developing countries (TWAS) is a global science academy working to support scientific research in the developing world. TWAS Awards are awarded in nine fields: Agricultural Sciences, Biology, Chemistry, Earth, Astronomy and Space Sciences, Engineering Sciences, Mathematics, Medical Sciences, Physics, and Social Sciences. There are 13 prize winners of the 2024 TWAS Awards. Prof. Jiangong You is the only winner of the 2024 TWAS Award in Mathematics.

Professor You is given the award "for his essential contributions to the development of the Kolmogorov-Arnold-Moser (KAM) theory and applications in differential equations, dynamics systems and the spectral theory of quasi-periodic Schrödinger operators".

Professor You has long been engaged in research on Hamiltonian dynamical systems and its applications. His works have been published in renowned journals such as Invent. Math., Duke Math.J, Ann ENS, GAFA and PRL. He was invited to deliver a 45-minute lecture at the 28th International Congress of Mathematicians, and awarded the National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars, the Outstanding Young Scholar Award of Hong Kong Qiu Shi Science and Technologies Foundation, the First Prize of National Award for Science and Technology Progress in Universities and Colleges, and the Second Prize of National Award for Natural Sciences.

The TWAS Awards are given every two years, since the past two editions. Winners of the award are recognized as outstanding mathematicians worldwide. Since the establishment, there have been eight mathematicians from the Chinese mainland winning the award, including Academician Shantao Liao (1986), Academician Wen-Tsun Wu (1990), Academician Kung-ching Chang (1993), Academician Weiping Zhang (2000), Academician Yiming Long (2004), Academician Ya-xiang Yuan (2014), Professor Zizhou Tang (2020) and Professor Jiangong You (2024). Professor You is the fourth NKU scholar winning the award following Academician Weiping Zhang, Academician Yiming Long and Professor Zizhou Tang.

Link to TWAS News:


(This article is translated from the following NKU News:


Chern Institute of Mathematics, Nankai University, Tianjin 300071 China
Tel: 86-22-2350-1029, 86-22-2350-8228, Fax: 86-22-2350-8114, Email: cim@nankai.edu.cn
Copyright Chern Institute of Mathematics